Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Everything you need to know about the vote-counting process in Ludhiana

Must read

The City Headlines 

Ludhiana, March 9

Deputy Commissioner-Cum-District Election Officer of Ludhiana Varinder Kumar Sharma today said that the ECI has banned all victory processions after the counting of the votes. Thereby, the candidates participating in the elections must strictly abide by the guidelines issued by the ECI, the Deputy Commissioner said.

ECI in its directions has prohibited any kind of victory procession on or after counting of votes. The Deputy Commissioner said that any kind of negligence in this regard would be dealt with strictly.

The ECI has also restricted the number of persons to accompany the winning candidates while receiving their certificates. Only two persons can accompany the candidate.

At 8 am on March 10, the counting of votes will start in all the 14 counting centres. The entire counting process would be closely monitored by the 14 counting observers.

Other than that, media centres have been set up outside all 14 counting centres. One common media centre has been set up at Bachat Bhawan, District Administrative Complex, Ludhiana.

He said that for media persons, entry to these 14 counting centres would be strictly through the Identity cards issued by the ECI.

Deputy Commissioner informed that media persons can carry their mobile phones only till the media centre. No mobile phones would be allowed inside counting halls (only photo camera and video camera allowed inside halls).

Counting centres for different constituencies

Dakha- Dr Sukhdev Singh Bhawan PAU

Ludhiana North- Govt Senior Secondary Smart School PAU

Ludhiana West- Gymnasium Hall, Punjab Agricultural University

Jagraon- Examination Hall, Punjab Agricultural University

Samrala- Satish Chander Dhawan Govt. College

Ludhiana East- Satish Chander Dhawan Govt. College

Sahnewal- Khalsa Girls Sen.Sec.School, College Road, Ludhiana

Raikot- Malwa Central College Of Education For Women

Ludhiana Central- Arya College, Auditorium Hall

Ludhiana South- KVM Senior Secondary School

Gill- S.R.S. Govt.Polytechnic College For Women, Rishi Nagar

Payal- Govt. College for Women, Ludhiana

Khanna- Guru Nanak Dev Polytechnic College, Ludhiana

Atam Nagar constituency- New Building of GNE Polytechnic College, Gill Road Ludhiana

Constituencies and counting rounds

Khanna constituency- 14 rounds

Samrala- 16 rounds

Sahnewal- 21 rounds

Ludhiana East- 17 rounds

Ludhiana South- 13 rounds

Atam Nagar- 13 rounds

Ludhiana Central- 13 rounds

Ludhiana West- 15 rounds

Ludhiana North- 15 rounds

Gill- 22 rounds

Payal- 15 rounds

Dakha- 16 rounds

Raikot- 14 rounds

Jagraon- 15 rounds

A holiday has been declared for teaching, non-teaching staff & students in all educational institutions where counting is to take place on March 10.

Dry day has also been declared in Ludhiana on March 10. Other than that, the 100 m radius around the counting centre has been declared a no-vehicle zone.

ALSO READ: 70-year-old former MLA marries 32-year-old woman from Ludhiana

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article